menu icon
New Digital Restoration! Never Before Seen Footage! John Huston's BEAT THE DEVIL Friday 6/2 – Sunday 6/4

You Are Viewing a Past Event

Looking for an upcoming event? Click here to view our current calendar →

Sun, Mar 17, 2013

Special Events Archive

Chlotrudis Awards

19th Annual Chlotrudis Awards, with special guest Christopher Abbott (photo by Jessica Miglio, courtesy of HBO)

Presented by the Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film

The Nineteenth Annual!

Guest of Honor Christopher Abbott!

Buy Tickets

Tickets $20 General Public, $15 Chlotrudis & Brattle Members; No Brattle Passes.

This gala event with a grassroots twist features the announcement of the Society’s picks for the best films and performances of 2012, with entertaining musical numbers, tributes, and special awards presented to guest filmmakers. Visit the Chlotrudis website at for a complete list of this year’s nominees and to learn more about this exciting local film society!

The Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film will honor actor Chistopher Abbott with its Breakout Award, during its 19th Annual Chlotrudis Awards ceremony at the historic Brattle Theatre. Mr. Abbott will be in attendance to accept his special award from Chlotrudis to celebrate a impressive start to a career that we look forward to following.

Christopher Abbott made his film debut in 2011’s critically acclaimed MARTHA MARCY MAY MARLENE. His second film was last year’s Opening Film at Sundance, HELLO I MUST BE GOING, opposite Melanie Lynskey. Roger Ebert said of his performance “Much credit goes here to Christopher Abbott, whose persuasive performance [is] like a living embodiment of the cliche, “I love you enough for the both of us”.”

Since then Christopher has filmed two upcoming independent films, ART MACHINE and BURMA, that latter of which is his first starring role. Mr. Abbott has also made a splash on television, as a part of the smash HBO series from  triple threat Lena Dunham, GIRLS, where he plays Charlie, Marnie’s ex-boyfriend.

In just two years, Christopher Abbott has made an impressive mark, and Chlotrudis is pleased to honor him with its Breakout Award at its 19th awards ceremony. He follows some very successful Breakout Award recipients including 2003’s Kerry Washington (who followed up her win with RAY) and 2004’s Ellen Page (whose next job after her win was Kitty Pryde in XMEN).

The Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film is a Boston-based non-profit group that teaches people to view film actively and experience the world through independent film, and encourages discussion. The group works with film festivals, local art-houses and theatres, production companies, directors and actors to bring creative, quality films to the attention of audiences and film-lovers. Visit the Chlotrudis website at, for a complete list of this year’s nominees, or follow them on Facebook and Twitter for the latest news.

  • New Digital Restoration! DONNIE DARKO • Late Shows Friday 6/2 – Wednesday 6/7
Reunion Week! 50th Anniversary! IN COLD BLOOD • Tuesday 5/30 at 4:15 & 7:00

Movie Magic. It's what you make possible. Donate to the Brattle Film Foundation.