Wednesday, May 4

Harvard Book Store Presents (Past Events)Special Events Archive

Angela Duckworth

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT – There will be a standby line at the door

Angela Duckworth discusses Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

in conversation with Amy Cuddy

This event includes a book signing.

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT. There will be a standby line at the door. Unable to attend? Order the book(s) or pre-order a signed copy from Harvard Book Store. No Brattle Passes.

Harvard Book Store welcomes 2013 MacArthur Fellow ANGELA DUCKWORTH and Harvard Business School professor AMY CUDDY, author of Presence: Bringing Your Boldest Self to Your Biggest Challenges, for a discussion of Duckworth’s book Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance.

About Grit

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance, by Angela DuckworthIn this must-read book for anyone striving to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows parents, educators, athletes, students, and business people—both seasoned and new—that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a focused persistence called “grit.”

Why do some people succeed and others fail? Sharing new insights from her landmark research on grit, MacArthur “genius” Angela Duckworth explains why talent is hardly a guarantor of success. Rather, other factors can be even more crucial such as identifying our passions and following through on our commitments.

Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently bemoaned her lack of smarts, Duckworth describes her winding path through teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not “genius” but a special blend of passion and long-term perseverance. As a professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Duckworth created her own “character lab” and set out to test her theory.

Here, she takes readers into the field to visit teachers working in some of the toughest schools, cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers—from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to the cartoon editor of The New Yorker to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that—not talent or luck—makes all the difference.

Praise

“Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it.” —Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness

“A contemporary classic—a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential—and perhaps life-changing—read.”  —Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell Is Human

Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.” —Malcolm Gladwell, author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers

“Impressively fresh and original. . . . Grit scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us.” —Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

 


Amy CuddyAmy Cuddy is a professor and researcher at Harvard Business School who studies how nonverbal behavior and snap judgments affect people. Her research has been published in top academic journals and covered by NPR, New York TimesWiredFast Company, and more. Cuddy has been named a Game Changer by Time, one of 50 Women Who Are Changing the World by Business Insider, and a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum. Her 2012 TED Talk is the second most-viewed talk in TED’s history. She is the author of the bestselling book Presence: Bringing Your Boldest Self to Your Biggest Challenges.

Angela DuckworthAngela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. An expert in non-I.Q. competencies, she has advised the White House, the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. Prior to her career in research, she taught children math and science and was the founder of a summer school for low-income children that won the Better Government Award from the state of Massachusetts. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. More recently, she founded the Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance the science and practice of character development in children. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book.